Just because I didn’t post about it, doesn’t mean it didn’t happen

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been a little quiet on the blogging front, and as Facebook keeps reminding me updating my Facebook writer page, but it’s not a case of ‘if you don’t post it it didn’t happen!’ It’s been a busy eight weeks with the Write Freely workshops at the Thurgoona Community Centre, submitting work for publications and a couple of prizes, and the general cobbling together an income caper.

No Room in On the Wallaby Track 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last week the Romanian-Australian anthologies Pounding the Pavement and On the Wallaby Track were launched in Bucharest. I’m really thrilled that my poem, No Room has been included in On the Wallaby Track along with the writing of many of the friends I made while living in Sydney and especially through New Writers’ Group in Parramatta.  I wrote the poem in December 2014 in response to the ongoing inhumane response to people seeking asylum in Australia.  On the Wallaby Track will be launched at the State Library of NSW in March next year.

My thanks to Mihaela Cristescu and Sue Crawford from New Writers’ Group for the invitation to include the poem. You can read it here.

Coming Up

This week I’m running Nano Story writing workshops for Wodonga Library to celebrate Book Week.  The students are from primary schools in the area and will be from Year 2 – 6. On Thursday I’ll also be running a workshop for the library’s Young Writers group on how to make their writing sense-sational!

Write Freely Writing Workshops for Adults – 9am – 12 noon Saturdays September 23, 30 October 7 and 14

Cost: FREE
Places: Limit 10 (Please note you need to book in for all four sessions)

I’ve recently finished running this series at Thurgoona Community Centre and have been so delighted at the thoughtful pieces of writing that came from the group. The straight jacket laces were certainly loosened! Much of the writing was memoir and it was very satisfying to see the growth in everyone’s confidence as they discovered that they certainly could ‘write freely’.

Join me and unlock those stories and other writing you know are in you! Workshops are free but you must book.

As this is a four week course you need to commit to the four weeks. Bookings here

You can read more about my writing here 

If you have any questions about the workshops you can email me here.

Writers’ Conference and Festival

Historical Novel Society Australasia Conference 8-10 September

This wonderful organisation promotes the writing, reading and publication of historical fiction. I went along to its first conference in March 2015 and am really looking forward to the conference next month and immersing myself in that genre for the weekend. My current WIP is historical fiction, but because of a submission I’ve made I don’t want to say too much more about the work just in case … you know … the judges have happened upon this blog post! Find out more about the conference here.

Write Around the Murray 13 – 17 September

Closer to home, (Albury Wodonga) the11th Write Around the Murray Festival is coming up with a fantastic program of writerly and readerly events. I was the festival’s coordinator from 2008-2010. It is a festival that remains very dear to my heart. Some favourite guests are returning including Jason Steger, literary editor of The Age and a regular on ABC’s The Book Club. Jason is moderating the Everyday Violence panel on the Saturday and on the Sunday will convene the What We’re Reading book chat and then go through to the festival finale discussing The Restorer with Book of the Festival author, Michael Sala.

Over the last two weekends I’ve read The Restorer and also Emily Maguire’s An Isolated Incident – two of the three books that will be discussed in the Everyday Violence panel. I’m still to read Nicole Hayes’ A Shadow’s Breath, but will definitely do so before the festival. Michael and Emily’s novels are two of the most powerful, moving and disturbing novels I have read this year.

On a lighter note I had the opportunity to interview Christine Anu for Border Café about her In Conversation and Song she will be presenting as part of the festival on Thursday 14 September. It was such a delight to talk to her and I’m looking forward to meeting her at WAM. You can read my story here

For all bookings and more information on the festival go to writearoundthemurray.org.au

And finally a serving of Rice

Next Tuesday night I’m popping along to the opening night of Rice – the next and final play in HotHouse Theatre’s 2017 main program.  It’s described as a ‘Brimming with wickedly humorous observations on globalisation, power, politics and family, Rice recently won Michele Lee the Queensland Premier’s Drama Award 2016 – 2017. This terrific co-production from Queensland Theatre and Griffin Theatre Company is directed by Griffin’s Helpmann Award winning director Lee Lewis.’
The season runs from Tuesday 29 August to Saturday 2 September. More information and bookings here.

 

 

 

 

About Robyne Young

Writer, creative writing teacher, editor, columnist. Literary lover. Short story collections, The Only Constant and The Basket and the Briefcase available via website.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

