Dad’s musical loves take little girl into a world of happiness

Robyne & her Dad Paddy's Market 1960

This piece appeared in today’s Border Mail feature – Happiness. Part 3 KIDS

I am two and in my father’s arms. He holds me above the smells and cacophony of Sydney’s Paddy’s Market. I am safe and I am happy.

I am still the only child, six months away from welcoming my brother.

 

The photographic record also shows a little girl perched on a chair in her full-skirted
dress; on a too-big bike, practically dressed in corduroy overalls and blouse, her favourite ‘tea-hat’ on her head and digging in the dirt with a little shovel. Always smiling.

My favourite dress

Robyne on bike about 1960Robyne the little gardener

 

 

 

 

 

 

What isn’t seen is the music that fills my world and makes me happy. The songs  that drift from the radiogram;  mostly the 78 records my father collects and plays. The deep resonance of Paul Robeson through to the warm tones of Vera Lynn, and the riffs and finger-clicking of the original Ink Spots.

And there is my father’s voice as he sings Lanza, Crosby and in the year my brother arrives Mancini and Mercer’s, Moon River,  and I wonder if it is this that has given me my love for all things Audrey Hepburn.

I hear that song now. It wraps around me lightly but as warmly as my father’s arms when he held me safe. I am happy.

About Robyne Young

Writer, creative writing teacher, editor, columnist. Literary lover. Short story collections, The Only Constant and The Basket and the Briefcase available via website.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

