The tale of a pudding at a blended Christmas

Yesterday I made small Christmas puddings as gifts for girlfriends. The fruits had soaked for a week and I really enjoyed the time I spent in the kitchen mixing, placing the mixture into the small red bowls I found at KMart and then the smell of the spiced mixture wafting through the house. 

It’s a tradition I started many years ago, and although the group I now give the puddings to has changed, it really doesn’t feel like Christmas if I don’t get them done. I’ve also made a larger pudding to take to Tweed Heads for Christmas Day, and I am off to buy more fruit as I still have a few more to make and send to family who will be having Christmas in Katherine.

Back in 2003 I included a story about the flaming of a pudding at a blended Christmas in my collection, ‘The Basket and the Briefcase’. Read Nanna’s Pudding here.

About Robyne Young

Writer, creative writing teacher, editor, columnist. Literary lover. Short story collections, The Only Constant and The Basket and the Briefcase available via website.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

